23, Married, and Happy To Be That Way.

This was written by my husband in response to the “23 Things You Should Do Instead of Getting Married at 23.”

23 Reasons Why You Should Mind Your Own Business.

The original post made me angry. I got married at 21, and I don’t regret it. She’s making a generalization that all 23 year olds are alike. We are not. I am 23 and I have been married for a little over a year now. This girl does not know me, nor does she know every other married or soon-to-be-married 23 year old. We are not the same.

The decision to get married was mine to make, and it definitely isn’t the best choice for everyone. But I am an educated, self-sufficient woman, and I can do what I want. I will travel if and when I want to, being married doesn’t change that. Being married means that I will always have someone to do those things with, if I so choose. Chris is not a ball and chain, and I am not one for him either. We are partners. We make decisions together.

engagement

 

Some of the things this girl said I should do before I turn 23 are definitely not for me. I have no intention of making out with someone I don’t know or hanging out naked in front of windows. HOWEVER, if I did want to do those things, I would do them. Instead I wanted to get married, and I did that instead. Some people are just ready to get married.

Others hang out naked in front of windows.

 

These are two similar responses from married 20-somethings:

http://whenthegirlmeetsworld.wordpress.com/2013/12/30/young-married-pissed-off/

http://youngcons.com/must-read-young-woman-gives-amazing-response-to-the-23-things-to-do-instead-of-getting-engaged-before-youre-23/

2 thoughts on “23, Married, and Happy To Be That Way.

  1. Yeaaaah, I got married when I was 19. I don’t regret it. Three and a half years later, I’m 23, still happily married, and definitely don’t want to hang naked out of windows or make out with random people. Definitely two different types of people there. Also congrats on your happy marriage. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment