Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

Title: The Selection

Author: Kiera Cass

Publisher: Harper Teen

Release Date: April 24th, 2012

Date Read: May 7-8, 2013

When we got the letter in the post, my mother was ecstatic. She had already decided that all our problems were solved, gone forever. The big hitch in her brilliant plan was me. I didn’t want to be royalty. And I didn’t want to be a One. I didn’t even want to try.

First Impression: You can read all about my very first impression here.

I thought it was dumb.

I was wrong.

When I picked it back up, I did it because I ran out of books and I still hadn’t finished this one. I flew through it in about a day, because it gets so much better than that first chapter. I thought it was going to end up being a vapid, pretty girl’s version of The Hunger Games- with a love triangle. But, as I read further, I really liked it. I got to know the character more than the first few pages, and I was glad I picked up the book again.

Things I Liked: The relationship between all of the contestants was an interesting one to read about. It’s like being backstage on The Bachelor (I am assuming this, because I have never seen it), and it was fun to read. I think that kind of writing takes a little effort too, because the author really needs to study group dynamics in a competitive setting. I was angry and happy and confused by some of the girls, and I loved it. I would have hated it if the book wasn’t told from America’s perspective, but it really was nice seeing it through her eyes. I also really loved that there is a dash of politics in here. Royal secrets, questions about the end of the U.S. as we know it, all that. It is a theme that becomes increasingly important, and increasingly interesting.

Things I Didn’t Like: I am not sure that I like the love triangle. Love triangles are ridiculously overdone, but somehow they always feel like a necessary part of YA lit. I think that this book could have stood without the love triangle, but I don’t know how it plays out in the rest of the series, so I won’t write it off (so punny) just yet.

Overall: I reallllly liked it. That being said, my first impression really sticks with me, so I can’t give it 5 stars. I know that I am not the only one to feel this way about the beginning chapters, but I do wish the others would finish the book.

Rating: 

fourstars

4 thoughts on “Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

  1. Oh I agree with you on this one! I thought it sounded terrible but ended up really liking it, and the sequel and now I can’t wait for the third one to be released. I also found the love triangle a little unnecessary, I was way more interested in the relationship between America and the prince.

Leave a comment