Why Rating Books Makes Me Nervous

I feel like I have to be honest with you guys. So, here goes:

I’m pretty sure I am absolutely awful at rating books.

When teachers grade papers, do they grade them on a scale? Does one A necessarily match up to another A? Does one five-star rated book match up to another five-star rated book?

That’s my conundrum. I have read some really spectacular books, and given them five stars. But do some of the other books I have given five stars to really compare?

Should I even be comparing one book to another book?

So, every time I sit down to rate a book, I tend to over think it. In the end, I ask myself whether I really liked it, what I thought was wrong with it, and how much those things weigh against each other. That is sort of the purpose of my reviews, and I often don’t know what my rating is going to be until I get to the end of my review. The whole process kind of makes me antsy. I just don’t like the idea of someone taking my ratings at face value without reading my reviews.

By cellar_door_films via WANA Commons

3 thoughts on “Why Rating Books Makes Me Nervous

  1. I totally agree as I worry that the star rating does not tell the full story – if one person rates a strong plot and I rate characterisation then the rating would be totally different (in extreme cases) Well done for hitting the nail on the head – it is the words that count not the rating!

Leave a Reply

