Movie Review: Elysium (2013)

Title: Elysium

Director: Neil Blomkamp

Lead Actors: Matt Damon, Jodi Foster

Released: August 9, 2013

Genre: Sci-Fi/ Action/ Drama

Set in the year 2154, where the very wealthy live on a man-made space station while the rest of the population resides on a ruined Earth, a man takes on a mission that could bring equality to the polarized worlds. (via IMDb)

 

I have never done a movie review before, so I am not going to pay much attention to format this time. Anyway, I went to see this movie at the AMC Theatres in Vestal, NY. That place is awesome. For any of you that haven’t been to an AMC theatre, then you are missing out! They have these big, comfy, red recliners instead of the usual seat. Yeah. RECLINERS. It’s enough to make any movie enjoyable! (If you don’t like it you can just go to sleep.)

When I went to see this movie, I hadn’t really seen any previews for it. When we decided that this was the one we were going to see, we watched the trailer, but that was it. So, I was going in pretty blind.

I didn’t think it was a bad movie. However, I didn’t think it was a fantastic movie, either. It was alright. I have heard that Elysium might be loosely based on District 9, which is directed by the same guy. Who knows, maybe if I had seen District 9, I would have liked Elysium better.

All in all though, this movie was full of action. The action scenes seemed pretty good to me (I’m no expert), and they were probably my favorite parts of the movie. However, other than that, I don’t think this movie had enough story. I know that there is obviously a story in the movie, but typically you see stories with more depth. The main character has his little connection with Elysium, and so does his friend Frey. But, it wasn’t the strongest connection and I think they built a little too heavily on it. What I guess I am saying is that while the movie was okay, it would have been much better if it had a little more depth.

That was my major issue. I guess this wasn’t the movie for me. In the future, I will try giving more in-depth reviews. If I find myself watching this movie again when it is released on DVD, I will probably do a “Part II” post. Until then…

 

Rating: 3 stars

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Elysium (2013)

Leave a Reply

