Lately

Hello! I just thought I would check in. It turns out, more people read my blog than I gave myself credit for! We just got back from a visit with my in-laws, and my husband’s grandma made a comment about how I am trying not to eat bread… turns out my MIL read my “Getting In Shape” post and told her about it! It was a strange moment for me, but it was nice to know that someone is reading my blog! 🙂

In other news, movies are coming out for most of the books I have read in the past year or two, and it’s kind of cool. My friend Ashley and I (you may remember her from this post) went and saw Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters in our town’s quaint little theater last week, and I really enjoyed it. I have to admit, it’s been a little while (a few years) since I read the book, but the movie was entertaining. Ash and I had to have the talk with ourselves afterward, though. I don’t mean the birds-and-the-bees talk, I mean the movies-can’t-cover-every-tiny-detail-of-the-books-or-else-we’d-be-watching-for-days talk. I know there is probably a shorter name for that talk, but it’s still an important one to have. Movies would be days and days long if they contained every minute detail of the books, much to our chagrin. You can’t always get what you want, I suppose. Although, I think it is worth mentioning that the best book-to-movie I have ever seen is The Help. The book was written by Kathryn Stockett. It made a really, really good transition to the big screen and if you haven’t read the book or watched the movie, you owe it to yourself to do so!

Ash and I are also planning on going to see The Mortal Instruments sometime very soon (It came out today). I am looking forward to it, although I don’t know how I feel about some of the cast choices (I don’t think Jace should be so… androgynous). I also plan on reading Ender’s Game so that I will be prepared for the movie, which comes out 11.1.13. Have you guys read it? Is is good?

Other movies I am looking forward to:

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

The Book Thief

The Fault in Our Stars

Divergent (I am especially pumped about this one)

 

If you haven’t read any of these books, go do it! 

 

Also, I just thought I would tell you guys about an awesome birthday card we saw at Target the other day. The dialog went like this:

Girl 1: Where’s your birthday party at?

Girl 2: Don’t end your sentences in prepositions.

Girl 1: Where’s your birthday party at, bitch?

 

We laughed and laughed.

3 thoughts on “Lately

  1. I loved the Fault in Our Stars. I had no idea it was so popular either! I rented it but immediately bought it because I loved it so much. I’m reading Eat Pray Love because I love the movie so much. Love love hunger game books and thought the movie was pretty damn close. Never read The Help, though!

Leave a Reply

