Pin-Testing: Avocados

As I was pinning late last night, I came across a photo of an avocado with an egg in it.

Exhibit A:

The Original Pin

The Original Pin

I thought it looked pretty tasty and I repinned it so that I could try it the next day. So, today comes, and I remember the pin, and I also just so happen to have an avocado and some eggs in the refrigerator. I retrieve the avocado, try to remember when I purchased it (I can’t), and proceed to cut it open. No bueno. Too squishy, weird color, and now considered trash.

But, I was bound and determined to make this healthy avocado masterpiece, so off to the store I went! My husband and I picked up some organic avocados and headed home. We preheated the oven to 180* and I cut open the avocado. Success! I got the golf ball sized pit out of the middle without butchering the superfood and went to grab some eggs. The pin suggests making the hole a little bigger so that you can fit the egg in, and that’s exactly what you should do. So, I excavated a little more and sprinkled a little sea salt and pepper on the bare avocado.

What they don’t tell you is that you also need to get rid of a lot of the egg white to get it to fit. My first try was a disaster- there was raw egg white everywhere and I broke the yolk. The next one was much much better, but there was hardly any egg white in there. Oh, well.

Now for the cooking. I wasn’t sure how I was going to get this lopsided avocado to stand up in the oven without spilling the egg. My first thought was a muffin tin, but upon searching the cupboard, I’m pretty sure I lent it to my mom ages ago and I haven’t seen it since. Either that, or it’s buried in the catastrophe I call a cupboard. But, lucky me, I managed to find this weird snowman tin. I think it’s used to make snowman-shaped cakes or something, but we have never used it. (We inherited it from the previous tenant). This weird tin did the trick, though! We stuck them in the oven and waited.

And waited.

And waited.

In reality, we probably didn’t wait that long, but I was impatient and hungry. It seemed like it was taking a million years just to cook the stupid egg yolk, so I turned on the broiler for a minute. And when I say a minute, I mean a minute. After several very dry and overcooked pieces of meat, I have learned that broilers are nothing to mess with. I didn’t think that the yolks were quite down on the bottom, so I left them in the oven and jacked the temperature up to about 275*. And, voila! Two minutes later I had a super breakfast. I let Chris have the good looking one, and I ate the broken-yolk one, but I snapped a picture for comparison first:

The one on the left is mine, the one on the right is from the pin.

The one on the left is mine, the one on the right is from the pin.

Overall, I think it looked pretty similar. I used just a little bit of pepper and some seasoned salt on top because I didn’t have any cayenne pepper, but it tasted pretty good! We both liked them and we will probably try it again.

Very easy, pretty tasty, über healthy.

5 thoughts on “Pin-Testing: Avocados

Leave a Reply

