Goodreads Reading Goals

Image by cellar_door_films via WANA Commons

So, I have been reading like a madwoman so far this year (I blame it on Tahereh Mafi), and I thought it was probably about time to update my Goodreads reading goal. When I set it back in January, it was at 50. As of now, I have read around 38 books this year and Goodreads told me I was 12 books ahead of schedule! So, I upped my goal to 75 books. But, how important are reading goals?

I know that when I think about reading goals, I automatically take a stroll down memory lane back to elementary school and I see 10 year old me reading books like it’s her job so that she can earn a personal pan pizza from Pizza Hut through the BookIt program. I have always been a reader, but I know that my classmates and I were all a little more motivated to read when the thought of free pizza was thrown into the mix. Now that I’m an adult, I just get the satisfaction of knowing that I can read… a lot. But, are Goodreads goals changing the way some people read?

For some people, the goal fluctuates depending on how many books the person has read, and whether they are on track. Obviously, I was in exactly that boat, so I upped my goal to 75 books instead of 50. But, what about the people that lower their goal? Is it really a goal if the person keeps adjusting it to fit their reading pace? On the other hand, what about those people that pick books to read simply because they are short and will help them get to their goal more quickly?

Obviously, this is not a matter of national import or anything, I am just really curious about people and their reading habits, I suppose. But, it is interesting to think about a program that is meant to help you keep track of the books you read actually playing a part in the way you read books. I don’t think I am being as articulate as I could be, but I hope you guys get my point.

What kind of Goodreads goal-setter are you? What about those of you that don’t use Goodreads?

2 thoughts on “Goodreads Reading Goals

  1. I don’t set reading goals. It’s probably just the way my mind works, but if I set goals, I think I’d be looking forward instead of being fully immersed in what I’m reading at the moment. I tend to spend more time on a book (especially if it’s mentally challenging, or written in a particular style that I enjoy) than I used to when I was younger.
    About the only planning I do is to challenge my mind and intersperse ‘difficult’ books among lighter works to keep my mind working. I always ensure I have way more books on my shelf than I can possibly devour quickly, so when I’m finished one, I browse the shelves and decide what is next.

Leave a Reply

