Sequel Review Anxiety? Is There Such A Thing?

Whenever I write a review for a sequel, I am overcome by some sort of anxiety. Weird, right? Well, it is. I just feel like when I am writing a sequel review I am going to give something away and someone that hasn’t read the first book is going to come across my review and throw a fit. And then I have to be that girl that makes a person not even want to pick up a book because I gave it all away. I guess what I’m trying to say is this: I don’t want you guys to think I suck. This is all coming to me now because next up in my review list is Fever the second book in the Chemical Garden Trilogy by Lauren Destefano. It wasn’t one of those second in line books that made me hate the series or anything, I actually liked it (not as much as the first or third, but still.)

This is how I feel I should preface my sequel reviews.

So, how do you guys feel about sequel reviews? Do you follow a specific rule? Are there any exceptions?

In other news, I am introducing Chris (my husband) to the weeping angels from the Whoniverse. It started out when I made him watch the first episode from the new series of Doctor Who, and then I wanted him to see the first David Tennant episode. Buuuuuuut, I don’t know if I really like the first David Tennant as the Doctor episode because he spends most of it unconscious, so we watched Blink and then he finally got what I meant about the Weeping Angels being so freaking terrifying. Now, we are watching The Time of Angels and things are really getting creepy. But I am making a Whovian of him. I love going back to these early Matt Smith/Karen Gillan episodes, I love both of them so much. Especially Amy. So sassy.

How do you feel about the Angels? If you aren’t terrified of them, I don’t think we can be friends.

Who is your favorite Doctor/Companion combo?

3 thoughts on “Sequel Review Anxiety? Is There Such A Thing?

  1. I have no idea about the angels of which you speak. But I’m leaving you a comment anyways. 🙂 As for sequel reviews…sometimes I get irritated when I read them if I read “not as good as the first book”… makes me feel a bit iffy on even reading it.

    • The Weeping Angels are from the British television show Doctor Who! And I totally know what you mean about the “not as good as the first book” dilemma, and I feel the same way. And I definitely don’t want to be that person!

Leave a Reply

