Books? On My Kindle?!

I have always been a staunch supporter of print books. I don’t think that anything competes with the feeling of a book in your hands, or even the smell of one. I have been a reader my whole life. When I was little, my Grandma always bought my brother and me a copy of all of the Harry Potter books when they came out, and we would call dibs on who got to read them first. We had to anxiously wait until the other had already read it (my mom also read them) and then we would have conversations about the book, like our own little family book club. That sort of thing means a lot to me, and ever since then I have been acquiring books so that I might have a library someday. I was lucky enough to marry someone who has a love for books almost as big as mine, a writer even! So, he has joined me in my quest for a Beauty and the Beast library.

But, what about the Kindle? (Or Nook/Kobo, etc., if you prefer)

I first got my Kindle last year for academic purposes. It was easier to just bring up a pdf that my professor had sent to me than to make a trip to the library to print it out before class. However, I hadn’t put any books on it until April of this year. The reason? The book I wanted (Destroy Me by Tahereh Mafi) was only available as an eBook. I remember thinking “Why would anyone only make their book available as an eBook?!?!” But, the Shatter Me series obsessed me absolutely had to have that digital novella. After looking around a bit, I realized this practice of publishing novellas in digital format only was pretty popular. I wasn’t sure how I felt about that. There are obviously pros and cons when it comes to eReaders. These are mine:

Pros:

-Books are cheaper, and there are even some hidden gems in the “free” category.

-Some books only come as digital copies.

-Helpful for school books/files.

-You can read a Kindle in the dark!

 

Cons:

-People say that eReaders are more mobile, but honestly books are often similar in size, and you don’t have to charge those.

-What about the libraries?!

-When you read books, people always ask you what you’re reading. I don’t think that practice is as common with eReaders. But, then again, we do have things like Goodreads nowadays.

-Cover art! You see the cover art of your book each time you pick it up, but Kindles usually just jump right to page, and some don’t even have cover art.

 

Obviously, these are pretty short lists that I put together kind of quickly. But, it didn’t take me long to brainstorm this list at all, and I am new to eReaders (when it comes to reading.)

What side of the eReader debate do you fall on? What are some of your biggest reasons?

 

8 thoughts on “Books? On My Kindle?!

  1. You and I have had this debate before. I’d like to think that I had a hand in your love of reading and your desire to collect books. I have always had books all around me. I have them stashed in all sorts of nooks and crannies so I usually don’t have to reach far to grab a book. But, I have lent and/or misplaced more books so far in my life than some people will ever read, and I still have boxes of books with nowhere to put them. I appreciate my kindle immensely, because that baby is the size of one medium sized book and it holds thousands!! I understand your desire to collect print books to build your library, but at this stage of my life, I need to downsize or you and your brother will be cursing me someday when you have to clean your way through all my books! 🙂

  2. Great points. I love reading an actual book, I think it is a superior experience in a lot of ways. But when travelling I have found my kindle to be wonderful, and lighter than carrying a load of different books. Also, the amount of choice for books on kindle is great, with a lot of free content, especially of the older classics. So there you go. Pros and cons for everything.

    • I guess since I went so long without an eReader, I have just learned to make room in my suitcase for books! And I almost always acquire some along the way. I like my Kindle, but I love my books.

  3. I grew up in a library for the most part. My mother being the director of the town library had the ability to park her child in the children’s section after school and say: stay in the building, we’ll go home when I am done working. OK! I’d skip merrily down through the stacks and select a few books from different series and/or subjects and go to town. My office at home is now 80% books and growing, my HP touchpad (aka ereader) has maybe two dozen books. I like the touch and feel and smell of bound paper, I like not having to charge or be tethered to a place. Has your kindle quit in the middle of a good yarn? As a technology oriented person I like the notion of the ereader but my heart really isn’t into it.

    • I agree wholeheartedly. I like my Kindle, and I do have around 10 books on it, but I would much rather read a book than look at a Kindle screen. So far my eReader has been very reliable, but like I said, I don’t use it for reading very often.

Leave a Reply

