Review: Forever (Wolves of Mercy Falls, #3)

Title: Forever

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Publisher: Scholastic

Pages: 386

Date Read: February 13-17, 2013

then.

When Sam met Grace, he was a wolf and she was a girl. Eventually he found a way to become a boy, and their love moved from a curious distance to the intense closeness of shared lives.

now.

That should have been the end of their story. But Grace was not meant to stay human. Now she is the wolf. And the wolves of Mercy Falls are about to be killed in one final, spectacular hunt.

forever.

Sam would do anything for Grace. But can one boy and one love really change a hostile, predatory world? The past, the present, and the future are about to collide in one pure moment–a moment of death or life, farewell or forever.

Characters: Honestly, there are no new characters! The same characters as the last one.

Conflict: Remember how Tom Culpepper was always trying to kill the wolves? Well, yeah, he is actually going to do it this time. Like, really do it. This time it is organized, and Grace and Sam have exchanged places. WHOA.

Things I Liked: I liked that Sam and Grace were in different places. I fell in love with Sam when he described the books on the shelf in the bookstore, and it was nice to hear more things from his point of view. It was also nice to hear from a less calculated and obviously more animalistic Grace. Stiefvater really is a good writer, and I just like the way her words flow, but it’s always nice to toss up the characters and their roles every so often.

Things I Didn’t Like: Sometimes Cole doesn’t quite seem real. The stuff he feels and says aren’t like the personalities of any other characters I have ever read before, and I can’t always understand the feeling behind was he says. I don’t think this is always a bad thing, because it is nice to be introduced to different types of characters, but Cole just didn’t seem completely cohesive or believable to me.

Overall: I did like the book, I liked how heartfelt the ending was, and how emotionally invested the characters, and even some minor characters, were in the problem. Obviously it was a life-or-death kind of thing, but I enjoyed reading it.

Cover Art: I have said this about the previous covers, but I love this one too. The covers for this trilogy are simple, but telling and I love the elegance of it. I also really like that the color of the ink is the same as the color on the cover, but again, this is nothing I have not expressed before.

Rating: 4 stars

2 thoughts on “Review: Forever (Wolves of Mercy Falls, #3)

  1. Hi Casey, I’ve read the series and this book was my favorite of the three. I loved Cole. I think his wild and reckless nature was an exciting contrast to Sam’s personality. I also liked the way his personality fueled and hindered his romance with Isabelle.

    I found your blog and post through a Facebook post from your hubs. 🙂

    • I will be sure to thank him for luring readers here 🙂
      I read this book a couple months ago, and I don’t remember having such a problem with Cole while I was reading, but it is what has stuck with me in the time since I read it. It may simply be because I have not met or known anyone with a personality like that. But, I do agree that his personality does a good job contrasting against Sam’s! His (Cole’s) sections of the book were never a boring read either.

Leave a Reply

