Review: Demonglass (Hex Hall, #2)

Title: Demonglass
Author: Rachel Hawkins
Publisher: Hyperion
Date Read: January 29, 2013

Sophie Mercer thought she was a witch. That was the whole reason she was sent to Hex Hall, a reform school for delinquent Prodigium (a.k.a witches, shapeshifters, and fairies). But that was before she discovered she’s actually a demon, and her hot crush, Archer Cross, is an agent for The Eye, a group bent on wiping her kind off the face of the earth. What’s worse, she has powers that threaten the lives of everyone she loves. Which is precisely why Sophie decides she must go to London for the Removal, a dangerous procedure that will either destroy her powers for good– or kill her.

But once Sophie arrives, she makes a shocking discovery: someone is raising new demons in secret and planning to use their powers to destroy the world. Meanwhile, The Eye is set on hunting Sophie down, and they’re using Archer to do it. But it’s not like she has feelings for him anymore. Does she?

Characters: I am only discussing new major characters here.

Cal- Ahhhh, Cal. I was positively giddy in the first couple chapters reading about Cal. He is introduced as a love interest in the first chapter or so. He is a white witch with a knack for healing. I love it because since Sophie is a demon, and Cal is a super-powered white witch, it has this awesome dark vs. light, good vs. evil thing going for it! Love love love. He is strong and silent and good. The way Rachel Hawkins writes it, he just seems to exude the stuff and even though he only exists in paper and ink, the reader is drawn to him. At least I was….

Lara- Lara is Mrs. Casnoff’s sister, and also Sophie’s Dad’s assistant. She seems to be pretty awesome at her job, but she seems super duper fake as only corporate type people can. You learn about her eventually, but for most of the novel she is just this freakily efficient secretary type lady.

Daisy-
This whole Daisy and Nick thing is one giant can of worms. I will get to Nick in a second, but Daisy is anything but a dainty as her name implies. She is a demon (say, what?!) and she represents a lot of pain and a big threat. She seems demure when there are important people in the room, but get her alone and she is a robust person with a soft spot for bad boys… and that’s where Nick comes in.

Nick- Holy smokes, this guy is scary. He is all intense eyes and unpredictable behavior and he scares the crap out of Sophie, and therefore the reader. He is a volatile bad boy, and it takes awhile to warm up to him, and likewise it takes him awhile to warm up to Sophie. However, he seems almost tender with Daisy…and that’s good, right?

Conflict: The Eye. It’s all about The Eye, and therefore Archer. Well, I lied, it isn’t completely about the eye. It’s also about the crazysauce person out there raising demons. That’s right, someone is out there doing it on purpose, and with the power that demons have, that is bad thing. Unfortunately for Sophie, there are also some problems of the heart. This book will have you groaning when Sophie makes a choice you may not have made, and then you’ll be wondering if she really did make the right choice… and then questioning that. UGH is right.

Things I Liked: Um, the whole book? Seriously, this is one of my favorite new series, and I practically flew through it. It kept me on my toes, sated my mushy romantic side, and gave me a good dose of action. Well done, Rachel Hawkins, well done.

Things I Didn’t Like: I didn’t like the sadness I felt when the book ended. There are a lot of things that happen at the end that make you say “Oh…oh, that’s sad. That’s not good.” But that part sucked in a good way I suppose.

Overall: I loved it. I loved it a lot. I am recommending it to anyone that will listen. I can’t wait to read Spellbound!

Rating: 5 stars

Cover Art: I really like the cover art for this series, but it makes me open my book upside down a lot. I love the little hints it gives! However, don’t get too excited about the wedding dress on the cover, it isn’t what you think!

Leave a Reply

